The best places travelers can go in Africa that are not on the UK red list

The UK government announced that on Monday, 11th of October 2021 they will reduce the number of countries on the UK travel red list to just seven. This means that international travel will become a lot more accessible to UK travelers, who will no longer need to quarantine for 2 weeks after returning to the UK from a number of countries.

The news led to a massive spike in the demand for flights leaving the UK and travelling to newly accessible destinations, especially for the up coming Christmas period and into 2022.

We are ecstatic at Secret Africa as we are finally able to help our UK clients plan their highly anticipated African safari trip, giving them the opportunity to live out their curtailed travel dreams to some of Africa’s most extraordinary destinations. To get you even more excited, we thought we’d share some travel inspiration for the countries you can visit in Africa.

Below is a list of countries in Africa that are no longer on the UK travel red list.

African Countries UK Travellers Can Enjoy Without Quarantine

Where can people from the UK travel red list South Africa

Start your trip to South Africa in beautiful Cape Town, swim with African Penguins and climb the famous Table Mountain, before traveling to the Kruger National Park to revel in the unspoiled beauty of the African wilderness at some of the most exceptional and luxurious lodges in Africa.

Tanzania is one of Africa’s most captivating and diverse safari destinations. Explore the Ngorogoro Crater and renowned Serengeti National Park and witness the iconic Serengeti Great Migration – Declared one of the greatest wildlife spectacles in the world. After experiencing the wild side of Tanzania, end your 2022 trip on the beautiful beaches of Zanzibar.

Where can people from the UK travel red list Kenya

Known for its pristine national parks, and vast diversity of wildlife, Kenya is one of the world’s most sought-after wildlife destinations, with the Masai Mara National Reserve declared one of the top. Watch thousands of wildebeest, zebra, and antelope cross the Maasai Mara on route to the Serengeti plains. Marvel at one of the greatest natural wonders and everything Kenya has to offer, before ending your trip in Tanzania’s Zanzibar.

Where can people from the UK travel red list Botswana

Witness the beautiful, lush greenery of the vast and virtually untouched freshwater wetland of the Okavango Delta teeming with multiple herds of Elephants, gaze across the wide open spaces of the Makgadikgadi Plains, and admire the incredible Zebras of Botswana’s pristine Central Kalahari.

Where can people from the UK travel red list Zimbabwe

Get soaked in the spray of the mighty Zambezi River tumbling over the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe or Zambia. Afterwards, enjoy every second of going Tiger fishing on a thrilling expedition across Lake Kariba, before relaxing on a lovely and tranquil luxury safari.

Where can people from the UK travel red list Zambia

Start your Zambian adventure at the Victoria Falls. Thereafter, make your way to one of Zambia’s premier National Parks, including Kafue National Park, South Luangwa National Park, and the Lower Zambezi National Park. Each national parks has something unique and exciting to offer. Above it all, it is the remoteness of Zambia’s many wonderful wilderness regions and national parks that makes it one of the top safari destinations for locals, tourists, and adventure travelers alike.

Walk with the Gorillas in Uganda’s incredible forests.

Enjoy on of the cleanest and well run countries in Africa while also experiencing Rwanda’s Gorillas and Golden Monkeys.

Stand in awe below the giant red and gold sand dunes of the Namib desert, watch lions hunt across the sandy expanse of the Kalahari and sit as thousands of seals soak up the sun on the sandy beaches of the skeleton coast.

Talk to one of our expert travel consultants to start planning your African safari. Click on the button below to start the process.

What Do I Need When returning To The UK?

As the countries listed above are no longer on the UK’s travel red list, UK residents are no longer required to self-isolate for 10 days in a quarantine hotel upon their return to the UK. This makes traveling more manageable, accessible, and time and cost effective as you get to avoid the time constraints and cost associated with quarantine hotels.

Quarantine hotels cost £2,285 per adult, ultimately resulting in a huge saving.

What Countries Are Still On The UK Red List?

Countries still on the red list are ones that the UK government say should not be visited, “except in the most extreme of circumstances”.

As of Monday 11th of October 2021 there are only 7 countries still on the red list.

These countries are:

  • Colombia
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Haiti
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Venezuela

Travelers are not permitted to enter the UK if they have been to one of the 7 countries listed above in the last 10 days. The only exception is if you are a UK or Irish national. In this case, you will need to:

  • Take a Covid-19 test before your departure to the UK
  • Complete a passenger locator form
  • Self-isolate for 10 days in a quarantine hotel (paid in advance) once you arrive in the UK

These rules apply whether or not you have been fully vaccinated.

Rates for quarantine hotels are:

  • 10 days (11 nights) per adult: £2,285
  • Additional adult (age 12+): £1,430
  • Children aged 5 -11: £325

Which countries are being removed from the red list?

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Indonesia
  • La Réunion
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Paraguay
  • Philippine
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe